Sunday, February 6, 2011

Superbowl Pre-Kick Show - 10 minutes and counting

The Packers have won 12 league championships - 9 pre-Superbowl in 1929, 1930, 1931, 1936, 1939, 1944, 1961, 1962, 1965 and three Superbowls I, II and XXXI

The Steelers have won 6 league championships, all Superbowls in IX, X, XIII, XIV, XL, XLIII.

In 1943 the Steelers merged with the Philadelphia Eagles for a season during the height of WWII. They were known as the "Steagles".

The NFL trophy is named for the Packers legendary coach Vince Lombardi.

The Packers trace thier history back to 1919 (also coincidentally the year of founding of my Alma Mater UCLA)

The Steelers were founded in 1933 and are still owned by the same family.

The Packers are owned by the citizens of Green Bay Wisconsin. The cannot sell their shares for a profit, or something like that. The team will never move from Green Bay. They are the only publicly owned sports team in North America, and the only non-profit as well. Packers tickets are notoriously difficult to come by.

The Steelers have the fifth most members of the NFL Hall of Fame with 18, the Packers have the second most with 21.

Game times is a few minutes away.

No comments: